1972 Skylark Climate Control Not Working

Scottf11961

Buick Ownership
1972 Skylark
Newbie here. Just purchased a 72 Skylark. The engine was changed to a 455-4. (Not by me). Didn't try the heat till I got it home, and I have nothing. The climate control does nothing when I turn it on. No air blowing. Nothing happens at all. I tried to test the relay, but I cant find it. Google search brings up the horn relay. So my question is, where's the relay? Or is it called a resistor? Also, where's the blower motor? It looks like the motor may be on the passenger side firewall close to the floor, I see something with vent lines but I didnt take it apart yet. Also, it does have a/c, but there is no belt on the compressor. Fine by me since I'm in NY, and its in the 30s, but need some heat. Worry about the ac down the road. Any help would be appreciated!!

LARRY70GS

Oakland Gardens, N.Y.
Buick Ownership
98 Riviera, 70 GS455 Stg1
First, go over to V8buick.com and join. That site is the best for your car hands down.

You need to buy a Chassis Manual for your car. They are widely available. You can usually find them on E bay for cheap.

There is only one high speed relay located on the firewall, behind the air cleaner. If that relay was bad, you would only have lower blower speeds, but not max blower speed. The blower resistor screws into the A/C housing in the engine compartment. The blower motor is under the fender. To replace it, you'll need to remove the fender, not an easy job. Trouble shoot everything else before you do that.

Scottf11961

Buick Ownership
1972 Skylark
First, go over to V8buick.com and join. That site is the best for your car hands down.

You need to buy a Chassis Manual for your car. They are widely available. You can usually find them on E bay for cheap.