1997 Riviera brake booster

rgaines

Buick Ownership
1997 Riviera
I have a leaking master cylinder which I was told has likely ruined my brake booster. (everything is working fine now, but needs to be fixed.) I got a new booster and master cylinder, but one of the bolts on the booster is behind the lower steering column boot and in not accessible. Any advice on how to get that nut off?

2007LucerneCXL

Illinois
Buick Ownership
2007 Lucerne CXL. and 1995 Lesabre currently, past 1973 Riviera, 1968 Riviera
Not sure on which nut, but here's a couple of diagrams that might help. The only option I see from the diagrams is that the steering colum may have to be dropped, hopefully someone else on the forum may know more information about this.
960822MG04-015.png 980116MG06-014.png

rgaines

Buick Ownership
1997 Riviera
Not sure on which nut, but here's a couple of diagrams that might help. The only option I see from the diagrams is that the steering colum may have to be dropped, hopefully someone else on the forum may know more information about this.
View attachment 28569 View attachment 28570
thanks for the reply. The lower bolt nearest the driver side door is completely blocked by #11 on the 2nd diagram. I can get a deep socket partly on the nut, but it's at too much of an angle to do any good.

rgaines

Buick Ownership
1997 Riviera
thanks for the reply. The lower bolt nearest the driver side door is completely blocked by #11 on the 2nd diagram. I can get a deep socket partly on the nut, but it's at too much of an angle to do any good.
I'm going to try to find a 1/4" drive 15mm that's not as long as the 3/8" drive one I was using. Maybe the smaller shank will give me enough space.

2007LucerneCXL

Illinois
Buick Ownership
Unfortunately the Chilton manual basically says to remove the 4 nuts and no additional instructions so it may be in the type of tool being used, hopefully that is it.

MelsRegal

Buick Ownership
Regal GS 2017