2010 Lacrosse ac clutch not disengaging

coolmeiser

Buick Newbie
Buick Ownership
Buick
This spring my Lacrosse CXL 3.0l air conditioning decided to start acting funky. Pressures are 44 and 185 No cycling observed at gauges. Clutch never seems to disengage, wont even turn with engine off and key removed. Climate control doesn't cool the car adequately on the highway (moderate hit and miss cool air) and blows warm air in town even set on max cool. I'm no trained mechanic but would expect the clutch to be disengaged and turn with out using a cheater bar on it. Haven't tried that yet... Unless one of you more educated fellows can enlighten me, I'm looking at a compressor swap including dryer replacement and system flush. I've done it on my former Taurus SHO so it's not out of my skill set, I just flat out don't want to if i'm missing something simple if you know what I mean.

Rich B.

Minot, ME
Buick Ownership
2016 LaCrosse & 2013 Boss 302 Mustang
The twin fans cool the radiator? Or the fan for evaporator, may be 2, I can’t say on that.

2007LucerneCXL

Illinois
Buick Ownership
2007 Lucerne CXL. and 1995 Lesabre currently, past 1973 Riviera, 1968 Riviera
The low pressure switch may be bad and is keeping the clutch engaged, just another option to consider. Sorry I don't have any information on how to test it.

coolmeiser

Buick Newbie
Buick Ownership
Buick
Did you try to put the heat on full hot to see if the clutch disengages ?
Unfortunately heat works wonderfully... Thanks for the thought
I’d try first operating the compressor solenoid with a direct 12VDC as problem may be with temp control instead (should be located with evaporator fins. Can just picture a compressor change, recharge and still not working?
Applied 12vdc to the solenoid (located on bottom of compressor) with no change in symptoms.

HotZ28

Buick Ownership
1996 Roadmaster Limited Collectors Edition 58k - 1996 PAU