• Hint: Use a descriptive title for your new message
    If you're looking for help and want to draw people in who can assist you, use a descriptive subject title when posting your message. In other words, "2008 LaCrosse" isn't going to indicate to anybody that you need help. However, "Need help with my 2008 LaCrosse" will. Be as descriptive as you can. Please use common sense... This message can be closed by clicking the X in the top right corner.

6 or 4?

baugh009

Buick Ownership
2003 Park Avenue (Base)
Hello, I am new to Buicks, new to this list but, unfortunately, not new to life. I recently purchased a 2003 Park Avenue (base), that is in excellent shape. I am enjoying it, immensely.

Looking to upgrade at least my front speakers, I went on-line and (from numerous sites), found that my base has six (while the Ultra has nine). Those sources also maintained that my front door speakers are 5 i/4", my rear doors 4', and my rears 6x9's. To my surprise, this (apparently), is not the case with mine.

The only match to their specs are my rears. The fronts, located in the "northeast" (driver's), and "northwest" (passenger), corners of my panels, and have about 3 1/2" by 4 1/2" grills. I haven't pulled the panel, yet, but I don't see Buick putting those grills on 5 1/3" speakers. More interesting, my rear doors have no grills, at all.

If someone could enlighten me as to whether Buick put-out some base models with only four speakers or, perhaps, that I am just too senile to be contemplating such an upgrade, I would be very appreciative.

Thanks,

John

Last edited:

bigsky

5.7L LT1 Member
SUPPORTING MEMBER
Montana
Buick Ownership
97 PA (salvage 185k), 99 PA (sold-now 170k), 2K PA (sold-now over 200k), 03 PAU 175k, 04 PAU
Your Base model has 6 speakers: the front doors each have a tweeter with the small grill you mentioned, and a 5 1/4" midrange/bass. There are two 6 x 9's in the rear shelf that I think are full range (someone correct me if I am wrong).