Anti-Sway Bar broken?

nfldriver

Buick Ownership
Buick
I have limited experience working on cars, but the other day when I replaced my rotors and brake pads I noticed a beam connected near my wheel that is completely severed. I'm not sure what it is, but was told it may be my anti-sway bar? I could tell my car hasn't been handling well lately and is making popping noises when I turn & go up/down an incline. I'm assuming this is why. If you know exactly what this piece is that is broken and could give me as much information about it as possible I really would appreciate it. I took pictures and have them attached.

nfldriver

Buick Ownership
Buick
The left side is also pretty badly rusted, and almost broken off. I'm guessing a repair wouldn't be cheap? Does anybody know how much this might cost if somebody even attempted to fix it?

dcraig1000

Buick Ownership
Buick lesabre
do it your self brother. not difficult at all.
1. Raise and support the vehicle on jackstands.

2. Matchmark the stabilizer bar to the mounting bracket for installation.

3. Remove the two nuts attaching the clamps for the stabilizer bar to the lower control arms. Do not remove the studs from the control arm.

4. Remove the bolts which attach the retaining plates to the engine cradle on both sides. The retaining plate covers and holds the stabilizer bar.

5. Disconnect and remove the exhaust pipe and crossover if necessary.

6. Pull the stabilizer bar down and remove, then remove the insulators.

To install:

7. Install the insulators to the ends of the stabilizer bar.

8. Align the stabilizer bar to the matchmarks and attach the stabilizer to the frame.

To aid in stabilizer bar installation, a pry hole has been provided in the engine cradle.

9. Install the reinforcements to each side at the frame, then tighten the reinforcement bolts to 40 ft. lbs. (55 Nm).

10. Secure the insulator clamps to the control arms and tighten the attaching nuts to 32 ft. lbs. (43 Nm).

11. Lower the vehicle.

Metrix