How good are these GM Turbo 4's?

ntorch

Blandon, PA
Buick Ownership
2018 TourX
Since I have no previous experience with GM engines (my Pontiac Vibe has a Toyota engine) I've been wondering what to expect from these GM turbo 4 cylinder engines as I pile up the miles from those who know these engines. I asked this question on a few other threads and am getting some response, but maybe others have the same questions,, so a separate thread probably makes sense.

I always perform oil changes in about 5,000 mile intervals, so any thoughts on the miles we can expect to get out of these engines and turbos---100K miles, 200k miles??

Any hints on proper turbo maintenance to insure longevity? Does using the proper gas octane help longevity of the turbo at all?

Thanks for your input.

Rhetoric

SUPPORTING MEMBER
MPLS
Buick Ownership
Red Needle TourX
No need to stick with a set 5k change interval. Let the oil health monitor do the work for you. 5k miles is quite low when using a good synthetic oil. I’ve been doing 10k changes on my TDI for over 290k miles, and that’s the factory interval, with lots of soot suspension in the oil.

Octane doesn’t play into turbo health. EGTs do, but I don’t see this being an issue with this car unless you’re towing 3k lbs up a mountain pass.

If you wanted to be over the top, you could let the car idle for 3-5 minutes after driving to let the turbo cool down, but even that is excessive.

Rules of thumb:
-Use full synthetic oil
-Don’t get into lots of boost until the engine is warmed up
-Replace the air filter at the recommended interval

NormT

Turbo-4 power!
OH-IO
Buick Ownership
2018 TourX
With that oil change interval +300,000 miles should be expected from the turbocharger. The rebuild kits are about $50.00 as I have rebuilt them by purchasing a kit off of ebay.

The GM Ecotec 2.0T has been around since 2006 and has been proven super reliable.

Skylarkin'

Sustaining Member
Sustaining Member
St. Louis, Missouri
Buick Ownership