Re Gearing

Julian1999

Buick Ownership
1970 Buick Skylark
Hello everyone! I own a 1970 Buick Skylark custom and I am looking to improve my 0-60 times, so I decided that I want to change out my car's rear end. The problem is, I am a college student with a budget (preferably $700 or below). I specifically want to run 4.10 or 4.11 gears. How would I go about finding an aftermarket rear end with these ratios? If a newer aftermarket differential is hard to come by for around the price I am hoping for, which truck rear ends would work that I could probably find at a local junkyard? Is it even worth it to buy a junkyard differential? And how will I make sure it will fit my Skylark?
Thank you!

Zeroboostbuick

S.W. Ontario Canada
Buick Ownership
2018 Regal Sportback - 2010 Yamaha R6 (track bike) Past cars: 92 LeSabre, 98 Regal, 02 GrandPrixGT
Full disclosure... I don't know much about differential's.

But a set of new Ring & Pinion gears + labor shouldn't be more than your budget.

I've seen LSD ( not the psychedelic type ) Posi kits with ring n pinion + all the seals and bearings for about $ 700.

If you're doing the labor then definitely a Posi Kit would be the best. Having a Peg Leg is not cool.
:driving:

MelsRegal

Buick Ownership
Regal GS 2017
You should step back a second and give some serious thought to what your primary driving is, highway, only local roads, and/or a lot of drag racing. What is the current ratio? Not so sure you can just buy a ring and pinion without considering the carrier you current have. Typically a 3 series carrier will not accept a set of 4 series gears without an adapter. Driving your car at highway speeds with a 4 series gear set will not be pleasant to you or your engine which I may assume is high mileage.

2007LucerneCXL

Illinois
Buick Ownership
2007 Lucerne CXL. and 1995 Lesabre currently, past 1973 Riviera, 1968 Riviera