• Hint: Use a descriptive title for your new message
    If you're looking for help and want to draw people in who can assist you, use a descriptive subject title when posting your message. In other words, "2008 LaCrosse" isn't going to indicate to anybody that you need help. However, "Need help with my 2008 LaCrosse" will. Be as descriptive as you can. Please use common sense... This message can be closed by clicking the X in the top right corner.

Tire replacement time -- leaning toward summer tires (Southwest US)

stoopid

Las Vegas, NV
Buick Ownership
2017 LaCrosse 1SL
I recently moved to Vegas and 99% of my driving is when temps are at or (well) above 40F. I'm thinking I can get away with summer tires all year. Being from the Northeast where all season tires are the bare minimum, I have no experience with summer/sport tires. Any input would be appreciated. I'm hoping to get a touch more traction on pavement. Tread life is always a concern but moving to a softer tire isn't going to help longevity, so I'll probably be mindful of the price per tire knowing they won't last much past 30,000 miles.

Looking at tirerack just to get my bearings, there's a lot of all season options. When I sort by performance models, I see the usual Michelin Pilot Sport, Pirelli P-zeros, and Continental Extremecontact DWS6. Seems like a coin toss for the most part.

[hopefully this link works, otherwise I have the 18" OE rims which are 235/50 R18 speed rating H or higher]

MelsRegal

Buick Ownership
Regal GS 2017
You clicked on the category filter and then clicked on the performance filter and selected only the Summer tires? Looks to be about 15 choices.

Rich B.

Minot, ME
Buick Ownership
2016 LaCrosse & 2013 Boss 302 Mustang
I’d stay away from summer tires as have them on other car. Compounds are softer for traction and at 40 degrees even it’s identical to driving on black ice. But since I don’t use that car through winter, not an issue.