Transmission/Motor Mount?

avtechwx3

Buick Ownership
1992 buick lesabre and 2000 buick park avenue
Hi Folks,

Here is what I've got: Start the Park Avenue in the morning, shift into Drive, and I get a bad bang. Funny thing is that this only happens upon cold start I guess due to higher rpm and smooth when driving. Its only when I shift into drive in the morning. When I got it inspected, guy told me I needed a mount. What does this specifically sound like to you and how do I identify? This is not something I will do myself because I've never done it before and don't want anything hitting the ground. At the same time, I am not going to let a guy replace all the mounts when only 1 is bad.
Thoughts?

Alan 55

Buick Newbie
Florida
Buick Ownership
2001 Buick Park Avenue, previously owned 1997 Park Avenue
I have a 2001Park Avenue which should be very close to your 2000 as far as mounts are concerned. When you raise the hood the front mount on the right can easily be inspected for excessive movement. Two people are required, one observer and one person in the drivers seat. The observer will stand over to the side of the vehicle a safe distance but still able to observe the mount/engine. The person behind the wheel will shift the vehicle from forward to reverse, back and forth a few times holding the brake for safety.
Some movement of the engine/mount should be expected but only a reasonable amount. If the engine is rocking back and forth the mount is bad.
In my opinion the front mount that I have described is the mount that is most likely to give problems. Not to say that the other mounts can not fail because that is always possible.
If I were paying to have this done, I would do just the “primary” mount first and see if that solves the concern.

Drakito

Southern Utah
Buick Ownership
2003 Park Avenue Ultra